How many times are too many times?
In Virginia, the laws on drunk driving are present but not practical. In Virginia, the law gives people four chances to drink and drive before getting jail time; that is ridiculous, four cases, someone will get to go behind a wheel of a vehicle while drunk and kill someone or themself. People pay a hefty fine; for those who have money, hefty fines don't mean much to them. For the first time, you pay a fine and lose your license for seven days. For your second and third time, the acceptable increase is between $500-$1,000 and 1 month to 90 days in jail. It is not until your fourth time does it get serious, with jail time minimum of 1 year, and as for ASAP classes, that is up to the judge to decide.
The legal limit for drunk driving is 0.08% blood alcohol. How many drinks it takes to get there varies by many aspects. A National Institute of Health study says, "a .08 is roughly equivalent to 4 glasses for a 180-pound male. For a 140-pound female, only two drinks could put her at a .07. Three drinks would raise her blood-alcohol to .10. While blood-alcohol levels do decrease over time, it's typically by only about .015 an hour.
Having stricter laws for drinking and driving the first time could decrease the number of DUI drastically. In 2011 there were 200 fatal crashes related to alcohol; by putting better limits and penalties on drinking and driving, that number lowered by 20%. Reducing that number will decrease the of deaths from drinking and driving.
Just think of it this way, if we were to put an interlock device (breath test inside your car before you drive) on the first time for six months, then they would learn and get into the habit of not drinking and drivi...