Music Review

575 words - 3 pages

Lauren HolteDr. Tyrie SmithEnglish 110217 June, 2014Haim - Days Are Gone ReviewDays Are Gone sends you on a journey about 30 years back on a hot sunny day drinking a cool cup of ice-tea sitting on your momma's porch. From the ripping synth bass, to the heavy Tarzan drums, to the effortless rhythms is what makes this album a top billboard 100 in the 80's, and of course 2013. No, Haim isn't the first to have this sound, but it works naturally and its smooth pop rock embraces its older influences very well.In the title song, "Days Are Gone" the listener can't help but to feel as if they've just walked into a mist of super hold hairspray, and live in a time where bright eye ...view middle of the document...

The fact that these musicians are all sisters really came to play when you hear all the beautiful harmonizing these girls can do. Like for example, in "Better Off" which is more indie-rock, you can hear not only the harmonizing but also the breathy tones of their vocals. "Falling" is an electric and eccentric upbeat song that is quick to capture the audience as well, especially with the Phil Collins-esque lightning drums that echoes off each other and pulsating beats. From the drums pounding and Phil Collins belching "I CAN FEEL IT, COMING IN THE AIR TONIGHT" is such a reminder of how powerful, simple and catchy a verse can be, and how "don't stop, no ones ever enough… " is at its same momentum."My Song 5" and "Let Me Go" are more of the darker songs, with a deep grunge feel but picks up toward the end with a different bass line that makes it two very memorable songs. The trio not only swoops the audience with their fun, lively music but in songs like "Go Slow" it contrasts a bit that surprise you pleasantly because of its pretty light and melodic sound. This effortless piece is so different from the rest, but it fits perfectly.In this album Haim's spiritual vocals, fun guitar riffs, and pulsing drums is what makes this album different, memorable, and most importantly great. Days are Gone is a very nostalgic album, and every song sounds like a potential hit, which is a very uncommon thing in a debut album. High-waisted pants, acid wash jeans, leather jackets with the spikes, and the gumby haircuts are coming back and I guess so is 80's pop music. Who would've known?

Other Essays On music review

Empirical Studies Paper ( Four Pages) - Empirical Study - Essay

1166 words - 5 pages then ask ourselves what we are actually doing to negate the effects pop culture is having on our adolescence’s. Rabkin, Rhoda. "Do kids need government censors?" Policy Review, 2002, p. 27+. Criminal Justice Collection, http://link.galegroup.com.ezproxy.oneonta.edu:2048/apps/doc/A83451326/PPCJ?u=sunyo_main&sid=PPCJ&xid=9447a678. Accessed 29 Mar. 2018. Chen, Meng-Jinn, et al. "Music, substance use, and aggression *." Journal of Studies on Alcohol

Jazz Album Review: Phronesis: Alive Review - jazz history towson university - essay

669 words - 3 pages Tracy Sun Professor Morgan Jazz History 04 October 2018 Phronesis: Alive Review Trio jazz group Phronesis dropped their third album Alive back in 2010. As one of their most recognized pieces of work; the eight track album includes three songs recorded live, received great reviews from critics and was even chosen as the “Jazz Album of the Year” by Jazzwise and MOJO magazines. The trio’s ability to produce music with one another is presented as

Hip hop essay on the history of rap - College mus 360 - Research paper

2153 words - 9 pages MUS 360 Exam 2 Review Guide: Materials from 10/15 through 10/31 The Golden Daisy Age of Sampling and the Native Tongues Afrocentric Hippie Vibes 1. Why was 1986-1992 considered the golden age when it comes to sampling music to make hip hop music (it had a lot to do with the fact that there was economic and thus creative freedom to sample without the fear of being sued)? 2. In general, what is collage (hint: you take a piece of A, mix it with B

review of Tyler, the creator's Flower Boy - high school English - review essay

948 words - 4 pages Lester, Paul. “Tyler, the Creator: Flower Boy Review – Closet Door Opens to Gawky Gorgeousness.” The Guardian, Guardian News and Media, 21 July 2017, www.theguardian.com/music/2017/jul/21/tyler-the-creator-flower-boy-review. Pearce, Sheldon. “Tyler, the Creator: Flower Boy.” Pitchfork, Pitchfork, 21 July 2017, pitchfork.com/reviews/albums/tyler-the-creator-flower-boy/.

Rock N Roll and How it Shook America - Lonestar - Essay Assignment

2058 words - 9 pages Wilborn Book Essay #1 All Shook Up- How Rock ‘N’ Roll Changed America Serena Wilborn HIST 1302 Book Essay #1 03/10/2019 Music has influenced people throughout history, provoking strong emotions such as sadness, happiness, and in the case of Rock ‘N’ Roll style music in the 1950s, music was said to influence sexuality in teens, created violence and riots, and caused tension in all aspects of life. In “All Shook Up - How Rock ‘N’ Roll Changed

The Truth Behind Us Assignment 3 5LOA - English, SOTA - Short story

828 words - 4 pages ” EXPLICIT ANALYSIS “Facts” (Level 1 + 2) 1) What media company made this piece of media? (Who paid for it?) 2) Who are the artists in this piece of media and what style of music do they make? Describe them using as much detail as you saw or know form your own background knowledge. 3) Summarize what is happening in this piece of media in at least three sentences (Think “context”: setting, characters, plot) USE DETAILS! IMPLICIT ANALYSIS “Messages

Robert

430 words - 2 pages , he would make it have more classes. He enjoys when teachers have review classes so he can further expand his knowledge, but dislikes when teachers assume things.In his free time, Bob likes to play paintball with his fellow friends (his favorite color paintball is of course purple.) He also likes to play with his Playstation. When the weather is right, he hits the slopes and works on his stupendous snowboarding skills. Bob has his own money supply

Persian Empire: How it Came To Be - History 231 - Research Paper

1616 words - 7 pages was a briefly monotheistic religion before it became polytheistic as the religions before and after it. In conclusion, the Persian Empire was the greatest of the Near East empires. They had many accomplishments and new ideas. Works Cited, Spielvogel, Jackson J. Western Civilization. Edited by Nancy Blaine. 8th Edition, Cengage Learning. Mirrazavi, Firouzeh. “Persian Traditional Music”. Iran Review, 28 Sept. 2010, http://www.iranreview.org/content/Documents/Persian_Traditional_Music.htm

Monologue about the novel called:" I am the messenger". - School - assignment

919 words - 4 pages . Audrey's monologue made the audience feel sympathetic, as she struggled with her own feelings for her close friend. 1. Reaction to the extraodinary or extreme moment/experience. Mmmm-mmm. I cannot understand my emotion now, I mean... just very chaotic (fetch a sigh)! Ed called me, holded my hand and brought me out onto the path. Music hit low, we danced to light music, we immersed in each other's emotions, it’s the music of hearts again! Pause Well

Shakespeare's Relevance in Modern Society - AP Literature and Composition - Essay

2436 words - 10 pages plays, such as Richard III, also gave people the ability to explore concerning issues that would have been hard to acknowledge otherwise. These issues continue to be articulated by the US population today and raise the debate of individual identity and what it means to be an American. Shakespeare’s genius for dramatic clarity has also inspired music, art, and dance in nearly every culture. Within classical music, Russian composer Piotr Ilyich

The Tropicália Movement, Cultural Anthropophagism, and Sociopolitical Revolution in 1960s Brazil - Centre College - Humanities - Research Paper

3029 words - 13 pages The Tropicália Movement, Cultural Anthropophagism, and Sociopolitical Revolution in 1960s Brazil Matheus Marlisson Humanities 120 - Spring 2018 Dr. Seebacher May 2018 Music, since the colonization period, has been used as a tool of resistance that helped Brazilian marginalized groups to protest against the injustices they have faced in the course of their country’s difficult history. In 1964, however, this scenario changed drastically. A new

Similar Papers

Esl I Vddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd Nec Esl

1032 words - 5 pages modestly and carefully send an email to her, she replied to me, she said" the music therapy is totally different performance that your regular performance, and when you play to patients , you need be satisfied with their needs instead of thinking what's your favor". I went back to my dorm to review my packet, and I recognized that patients need lovely, slow, and soft music. So, I decided to choose pieces again. We mainly focused romantic, comely, and

Comparing Complete Works Editions Mu 630 Essay

2014 words - 9 pages (1992): 515-26. doi:10.2307/831718. of the editors. This work is historically relevant, as it is one of the first and few complete works editions of an American composer from the 19th century. This is also noted in Charles Hamm’s 5Hamm, “The Music of Stephen C. Foster: A Critical Edition.” critical review of the edition. While Root and Saunder’s critical edition is often compared to Foster Hall Reproductions, the two are not related editions.5

Sound Preformance Ariana Grance Dangerous Women Tour Evaluation York / Music In The City Essay

626 words - 3 pages Performance Review – Ariana Grande Dangerous Women Tour The musical performance I choose to attend was an Ariana Grande concert which took place at 7 pm March 5th at the Air Canada Centre. The entire duration of the concert was 3 hours. Her set list included 20 songs from her album Dangerous Women. I arrived by my seat at 7 pm sharp and the concert did not start until 8 pm. The one hour wait consisted of people chatting with each other and

Notes On Film Of Captain Fantastic Yr 11 Notes

617 words - 3 pages introduce ross and film what was ur thinking? purpose money....? influence people's decisions and choices inform review and rating. Ross wants people to like film awards film making cinematograp storyline behaviour of characters mise en scene - 'staging the action' physical setting costumes props technical devices lighting sound type of shots VFX editing sound track complementary background music effects and can change the scene by altering